A Conundrum

It's A Trap! (237 / 365)

I’ve kept a personal blog over at Blogger since Marilyn and I moved to Beijing, but I’ve dropped off posting over there. Part of the reason for that is the fact that it’s blocked in China, so I have to post from VPN. Given that the blog is about Beijing and inaccessible to most people here seems like such a downer. But somehow, it being blocked wasn’t the only reason I steered clear.

After throwing this blog together the other day, I’ve realized that the text of the blog isn’t blocked (because it’s on its own domain), but the photos are, presumably because they’re hosted by WordPress. So I’ve made a couple steps of progress here, but I’m going to have to find a workaround for this. Flickr embeds will work, and WordPress.com also has a new embed integration with Instagram that might come in handy here.

Anyway, here’s to hoping that I can get the friction to posting low enough so that I can write consistently, blocked or not.

Photo: Flickr / somegeekintn

Leave a Reply

