Happy Thanksgiving

This is happening tomorrow.

A post shared by Josh Ong (@beijingdou) on

A very happy Thanksgiving to all of you. Marilyn and I are thankful that our two families live within driving distance of each other. We’re especially grateful today since that means that we’ll be eating two turkey dinners. Whee.

My mom is just getting into the turducken craze, so she’s trying to roast one today. (Yes, I realize the Costco one that my mom bought spells it tur-duck-hen, but I reject that spelling). We convinced M’s dad to go with the Alton Brown turkey recipe that has become our tradition in Beijing.

We don’t see our families very often since we live overseas, so it’s nice to be able to celebrate Thanksgiving with them for the first time in I over five years. In fact, this might be the first Turkey Day that M and I will spend with both our families as a married couple.

On my side, we’re all packed into one house – 2 parents, 4 kids, and 8 nieces and nephews (with 2 on the way). Now that M and I are expecting, it’s fun looking at all the different stages that our kid will hopefully go through. Still a bit hard to believe that we’ll be having one of our own in a few months, but today’s the perfect day to stop and just be amazed by it all. That, and food coma. Oh and pre-shopping.

Anyway, hope you’re all having a wonderful time of it today, wherever you are.

I’ll leave you with this video of a chef making a nine-bird super-turducken for a local news channel:

Leave a Reply

