End in Sight

Ok, let's do this. #bradleymethod #week33

A post shared by Josh Ong (@beijingdou) on

So we’ve been back in the US of A for a little over a month now. To be completely honest, time has moved rather slowly as we’ve been transitioning. In between getting situated with work, Marilyn and I have been traveling back and forth between our parents’ houses to get time with both families. Lots of visitors have been coming through to see my parents, so we’ve enjoyed catching up with relatives and family friends, even if under sobering circumstances.

I’d set the month of April as a mental marker for baby’s arrival since M’s due date is the 30th. All that stuff I’ve been putting off is now going to have to get done. My mind still threatens to explode when I think about the fact that I’m about to be a father, but we’re just going to have to roll with it.

We started taking birth classes a few weeks ago, and that’s really helped us wrap our minds around what we’re about to go through. Marilyn went with the Bradley Method, aka Husband-Coached Childbirth. Any illusions I’d had about shirking any responsibility during labor are gone, as I’m now on the hook for helping baby get born. M seems quite happy with the setup. By way of recommendation, our instructor, Renea Capozzi Cotto, has been hugely helpful.

If I’m not too busy coaching, I’m hoping to live tweet/instagram the birth process, though I’ll try and keep it fairly PG. Watched a very un-PG birth video the other day and it was intense. If I’m able to have a computer open, I’ll also drop updates here, though you’ll have to forgive me if I end up doing a recap.

Leave a Reply

