Hello, Fatherhood.

It’s been a wild ride, but baby Miles is finally here!

mrmiles

7 pounds, 5 ounces. 20 inches tall.

He’s been a fabulous baby so far. He got so cozy this morning that he refuses to wake up and slept through all sorts of prodding tests.

He did, however, tear Mommy on the way out, so she’s got some recuperating to do.

The emotional high associated with having a baby has been quite different from what I expected. While I did feel a surge of love for the kid when he first arrived, it actually turned out that the love that was growing for him while he was in the womb was deeper and stronger than I realized. Now that he’s in the real world, we get to redirect those emotions.

I’m in way over my head here. Stabilizing his wobbly head, changing his diaper while he’s kicking around, trying to put that tiny hat on his head with one hand, keeping his arm down while trying to pull off a nice swaddle. Those things will get better with time, but the fact remains that tasking a human with the care and nurture of another human is an act of faith. Shortly after the birth, Marilyn was wheeled out of the room so they could repair the tearing, and I was tasked with holding the baby skin on skin while we waited. Needless to say, it was overwhelming to sit there and try and take care of the little guy. I’ve always been pretty hesitant to hold other people’s newborns it felt like too much responsibility.

Now that responsibility is mine and I have no choice but to rise to the challenge. On my own, there’s no way I’d ever be fully ready to raise a child, but it’s showtime, and, by God’s grace, I won’t screw this up too much.

3 thoughts on “Hello, Fatherhood.

  1. Beautiful baby and congratulations! I’m 2 months ahead of you and your words remind me how I felt on the first day – it was an emotional roller coaster and huge learning on the job. Believe it or not, in just a few days you will be changing diapers in few seconds, swaddle the baby like a pro, and realize you can do so many things one handed, it’s amazing. I’m glad I have the iPhone, because it’s easy to operate with one hand: It’s the only newborn friendly computer, if you ask me, and essential to be plugged into the internet during the early baby period 🙂

  2. Congratulations to you and Marilyn! The live-instagram feed was a sweet touch, will be nice to look back on that in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

